American Express Centurion Lounge (Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, TX)

In my last post about visiting the Las Vegas Airport Centurion Lounge, I detailed not only my experience at the facility but also an economic analysis justifying the steep platinum card annual fee. Adding to the $264 I’m already in the green after having availed of many Centurion lounge amenities and various AMEX spending promotions, I can reasonably push up that figure another fair value assessed $35 (food + a glass of wine) with the DFW lounge visit.

After having been stuck at IAH for over five hours on my inbound flight (without access to any one of the multiple United lounges because I wasn’t continuing travel on an international flight), I’m very excited to hear about the plan to open a Centurion lounge there! Next time, I’ll consider using my Priority Pass membership to access the KLM Crown Lounge located in Terminal D.

UPDATE: While the Priority Pass and KLM websites indicate the lounge opens at 6a, upon your arrival at the door you’ll see a cardboard cutout of a flight attendant for which a manual clock is affixed showing a 7a opening. I had the unfortunate experience of having arrived at 5:30a on a red-eye flight with a connection at 7:30a so didn’t have enough time to visit the lounge.

Since my domestic flight from Atlanta arrived in Terminal C, I hopped on the airport ‘Skylink’ train which got me to Terminal D in about 10 minutes. Since the lounge is located near gate 14, just make sure you get off the correct Terminal D stop.

The lounge is a little difficult to find unless you’re walking around gazing up at the ceiling.

Very clean and well maintained men’s bathroom

This particular lounge has a unique (and larger than LAS and SFO) layout which wraps around a seemingly looking atrium area


A fully stocked bar with a great selection of top shelf liquor and wine. I ordered a glass of a great Sangiovese.

Meeting spaces and comfortable groovy color scheme chairs

The food selection paid homage to local ingredients and cuisine.

  • Shredded Shortrib Rolled Tacos
  • Pecan Crusted Chicken
  • Angel Hair Pasta with Summer Squash and Texas Olive Oil
  • Jalapeno Cheese Grits (or was it a less formed polenta)
  • Campfire Beans
  • Cilantro Rice
  • Fresh Tortilla Chips and Guacamole
  • Freshly Prepared Tomato and Tomatillo Salsa
  • Flan
  • Rice Pudding

Plenty of food area seating and power points located all around the wall perimeter

Leave a comment